Walls Debate Team Wins Big!

Posted on: March 20th, 2013 by Admin


A winning streak at the DC Urban Debate League Tournament on Saturday yielded SWW a 95% winning percentage, making history in the league for the highest winning percentage. From among ten schools represented, Walls’ five teams won the following awards:

1st Place Team — Christie Hoyte Hayes, Nathan Ausubel, Jonathan Wood;

2nd Place Team — Elena Burger, William Warren, and Rashaun Maratbek;

3rd Place Team — Camara Hudson, Eva Dalzell, Ramela Suber;

4th Place Team — Olivia Johnson, Zarrina Mulloboeva, Jacob Ausubel; and

5th Place Team — Breet Isaacs, Adrian Sohn, Clara McCurdy.

It’s the first time in the league’s history that one school won the top five team awards. In addition, almost all of Walls’ debaters won an award in the top 20 Speaker Category: special mention to 1st place speaker, Camara Hudson; 2nd place speaker, Will Warren; Elena Burger and Christie Hoyte Hayes won the 3rd and 4th place speaker awards, respectively.