Smart! Class of 2014!

Posted on: October 18th, 2013 by Admin


Wow Penguins! Well done!  SWW is proud to announce the following student achievements:

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

This year is the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Students who have taken the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) receive consideration for the National Merit Scholarship Program. There are 16,000 semi-finalists chosen out of the 1.5 million who enter the National Merit Program each year. School Without Walls has four students who have received recognition as semi-finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Program in the Penguins class of 2014. The following students are among the highest scoring students in Washington DC:

  1. Molly Charles
  2. Daniel Dulaney
  3. John Seamus Kirkpatrick
  4. Ana Tsai


National Merit Commended Scholars

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation also recognizes the 34,000 highest scoring students on the PSAT/NMSQT. These students are recognized as National Merit Commended Scholars who showed exceptional promise on the PSAT/NMSQT. The Walls’ class of 2014 students who are Commended Scholars are:

  1. Chase Ammon
  2. Taiwo Dosunmu
  3. Megan Eigsti
  4. Laura Horvath
  5. Caroline Lahti
  6. Chandalar Pensley


National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

Walls would also like to present this year’s National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars. The National Hispanic Recognition Program selects 5,300 Hispanic/Latino students from a pool of over 259,000 students who took the PSAT/NMSQT. The Scholars are:

  1. Stephanie Guzman
  2. Delmar Tarrago


The National Achievement Scholarship Program Semifinalist

The National Achievement Scholarship Program is an academic competition established in 1964 to provide recognition for outstanding Black American high school students. Based on PSAT/NMSQT scores 4,700 students are chosen from the 160,000 students who enter the National Achievement Program each year. This year Walls has one student semi-finalist for the National Achievement Scholarship.

1. Taiwo Dosunmu


The National Achievement Scholarship Program has also recognized nine students as Outstanding Participants

These students have scored in the top 3% on the PSAT/NMSQT. These students will have their scores mailed to their choice schools as well as other top schools in the nation indicating that they have received this honor. These students are:

  1. Sinclair Blue
  2. Jerrel Catlett
  3. Kehinde Dosunmu
  4. Samantha Kolawole
  5. Tijani Marou
  6. Meheret Mekonnen
  7. Lauren Newman
  8. Caroline Nwanze
  9. James Oliver



Tyriek Mack is the winner of Nordstrom Scholarship this year.

Nordstrom awards a $10,000 scholarship to 80 outstanding high school students across the country to help them achieve their dreams of going to college. Students apply for this scholarship as high school juniors. Tyriek Mack is also a recipient of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Alpha Sigma Chapter 2013 Scholarship. Congratulations!

Walls is exceptionally proud of these outstanding achievements.
Congratulations class of 2014 students! You make us all look good!