Penguin Pride Archive

January 11, 2017:

Congratulations to two SWW students who have been selected for the United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 4 — 11, 2017:

  • John Nugent, Delegate
  • Jacqueline Thompson, Alternate Delegate

The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to a week-long program, delegates receive a $10,000 undergraduate scholarship!

More information here: District of Columbia Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program   

January 7th, 2017:


SWW Latin teacher Jane Brinley (L) and GW intern Katherine Bradshaw (R)

Walls’ Latin Teacher Jane Brinley received the Society for Classical Studies Award for Excellence in Pre-Collegiate Teaching.  Ms. Brinley came to Walls in 2010 to build the Latin Department which goes through AP Latin.  Ms. Brinley also established a partnership with GWU Classics Professor Elizabeth Fisher to give Classics majors classroom experience. Congratulations Ms. Brinley!

December 12, 2016:

Congratulations to two School Without Walls Juniors who were accepted into the prestigious OSSE Scholars Program! Juniors Ying Chen and Ellen Guo were chosen to receive scholarships for selective summer college programs at some of the nation’s top universities:

  • Ying Chen- Brown University
  • Ellen Guo- Smith College

Please congratulate Ying and Ellen when you see them, and wish them the best!

November 21st, 2016:

Walls Students Interviewed about the Effort to Spread African American History — Student interview!