Congratulations to the WALLS Debaters

Posted on: December 21st, 2012 by Admin

Congratulations to the WALLS Debaters Congratulations to the WALLS Debaters for making history at DC Urban Debate League’s tournament, on Saturday December 15, 2012. Sixty students from 8 Metro DC public and private high schools participated; they were divided into 21 teams (generally 3 students per team).

Each team debated the following topics in four rounds of debating.

  1. Suspension is an effective form of discipline in DCPS. (2 rounds)
  2. The federal government should make substantial investment in transportation infrastructure. (1 round)
  3. The U.S. policy in the Israeli/Palestinian conflict does more harm than good to its national security. (1 round)
  4. Walls had 15 debaters made up 5 teams for the debate. In the Team Category, Walls won the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th place awards.

    In the Individual Speaker Category, Walls won the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 6th, 7th, and 9th places, with 6 of the other Walls debaters performed in the top 20.

    Walls also won the 1st place Sweepstakes award. This category goes to the school with the highest winning percentage, which is determined the number of teams multiplied by the number of rounds. Of the 5 Walls teams: 4 teams won 4 of 4 rounds, although 1 team had a bye, meaning it had to sit out 1 round because there was an uneven number of teams. While a bye counts as a win, it is not weighted into the sweepstakes percentage. The other Walls team won 3 of 4 rounds. So although Walls technically won 95% of the rounds, for the award purposes its winning percentage was 90%.

    Overall, Walls performance was historic. No participating school in the history of the DC Urban Debate League had ever before won with such a high sweepstakes percentage, and none has ever won the top 5 team awards in a single tournament.

    While each Walls debaters performed exceptionally, special mention goes to the following students. Christie Hoyte Hayes, who won the 1st place individual speaker award, and 1st place team with Brett Isaacs and Zarinna Mulloboeva. Camara Hudson, who won the 2nd place speaker award, and the 3d place team with Jacob Ausubel and Ramella Suber. Liyana Ido, Jonathan Wood and Eva Dalzell, who ware on the 2nd place team.